Vasen-bg National Board of Antiquities   Personnel Directory Contact informationFeedback

Suomeksi | På svenska


Protected Areas

On ground of the Antiquities Act, four wreck sites in Finland now have a protected area around them: St. Nikolai outside Kotka, St. Mikael, Vrouw Maria and Gråharun in the Archipelago Sea. The aim is to protect underwater sites for future generations and for forthcoming investigations. Protected areas make a long term means of safeguarding different finds from different times. Ancient sites and the information they have can thus give us a rich picture of the history of navigation also in the future.


Site map

Last updated 29.10.2015
© National Board of Antiquities